How do you use more than one texture in a model?

Hey, I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to make a model that uses more than just one texture repeated 6 times (ex:cube.

-I am currently using milkshape to make my models. I know that, that specific program is a bit restricted towards producing. But I find it easier to use a the moment, since I just recently start making models.

-its a pain to use (milkshape) towards putting textures on a model however.

-as you can probably guess the reason to ask this because I want to make more complex models(no duh!) texture wise.

-(Ex making a sign that has grean side/top, bottom; with a custom texture on the front/back

Note: I used the (-) mark indentations to make my question seem to well less than a wall of text :wink: Oh, I keep in mind I am somewhat new to modeling.

Thanks in advance!

Select the faces of the side you want to have a different texture on and regroup them, then you can assign another texture to them by making a new material for them and assigning that to your new regroup.

How exactly can I select a specific side in milkshape? srry about noob questions…lol

[editline]04:14PM[/editline]

EXAMPLE:
http://s911.photobucket.com/albums/ac316/discopairs/?action=view&current=NewBitmapImage2.jpg

[editline]04:19PM[/editline]

well that didn’t work. I selected the side and when I clicked assign texture, it said: Textures can only be assigned to groups (the whole figure). So any ideas??? :frowning:
sorry I’m confused. I will just experiment a bit. I know what you are saying but I just need to take a sec to expirement…kk thanks!

[editline]07:26PM[/editline]

How do you regroup them???

[editline]08:42PM[/editline]