How does everyone start their mapping projects?

Hey everyone.

I wanted to start a little discussion on design planning, tactics people use and how people generally outline their projects.

I’ve seen videos where mappers have built the entire layout in dev textures, and then added to it. I’ve seen people detail section by section. I’m just interested to farm ideas on new methods to map. I’ve been doing the same thing for 14 years, as I taught myself without any tutorials and made my own methods. It wasn’t until I started partnering with people recently that I learned not to build brushes with textures instead of NODRAW, and how to optimize effectively. I figured a thread like this couldn’t do anything but help others with your own experiences.

I typically start my maps with an idea of what I’m going to build - Cabin in the woods, a fire station, or high rise. If I don’t have a concept or setting, I can’t even get started. I texture each section as I build it, and add props towards the end. Optimization is always last. My downfall is that I usually end up trying to detail too soon, and that makes it very hard to move things around or change layouts. Watching 3klikphilips videos on YouTube, it appears he builds the whole basic layout in dev and then adds from there. I can’t seem to do that because I always end up with something that’s entirely different anyway, so I found it was easier to just build as I go.

What kind of things do you guys do? Does anyone do a blueprint before mapping? How has that helped / hindered you? Does anyone map professionally? Post your tactics and see what we can come up with.