How is this admin abuse?

Ok. I’m an admin on a friend’s server. I’m the regular admin. We allow pvp, raiding and all that good stuff. However, we don’t tolerate excessive and targeted griefing of newbies. It is rare we have to deal with that so it isn’t a big deal.

Alright, new player joined. I teleported to him to see what he was up to and to greet him to the server. Bear in mind I’m “naked” without even weapons. I did have godmode on just in case he attacked me. I wasn’t there for a fight. He suicided. I teleported again and asked him why. He suicided again. So I continued to be courteous and converse, and he continued to suicide. On his last time he said, “No wonder nobody is on this server with this admin abuse.” Then he logged off.

So my question, how exactly is this admin abuse? Nonthreatening, trying to talk to him. He doesn’t even have a base yet to be worried about me finding it. So I just completely fail to understand what he was on about.

Can anyone elaborate?

I’m assuming he was suiciding to get to a specific place on a map, I do that when I’m new to a server because I have a few favorite spots. But you just trying to talk to him isn’t admin abuse. Sounds like he was having a bad day.

A lot of players don’t want admins teleporting to them because they think that you’re just trying to find their base so you can raid it.

I always told my players periodically that I do not play the game on my server and I’m just teleporting around to keep an eye out for hackers. As long as I filled people in they didn’t mind.

Also, you may want to make yourself stand out more as an admin. Being naked and having godmode on is just asking for someone to shoot at you, not be able to kill you, get pissed and rage.

I would put on invisible boots, pants, and shirt so that I was just a floating head wandering around. It made it much more clear that I was just doing my admin thing and I wasn’t there to bother anyone.