How perfectionism has prevented me from learning mapping and how I will overcome it

Let me first say that this might be in the wrong topic. Nothing really fit 100% so I just chose this one since it’s the one that mostly fits.

Anyways, I got Garry’s Mod back in 2015, and I always wanted to learn how to make a map for the game, even before I was able to purchase the game. After a few months, I began to attempt learning how to map. I found some tutorials, and within an hour or so, I had my first ever room mapped out, without textures of course.

After a while though, something changed in me, I began to feel this indescribable feeling that halted any further progress. I began to nitpick my maps from the very beginning of their creations. Even though I was a beginner, I felt like I shouldn’t map if I don’t know how to do so “properly”. What did I mean by properly? Well, I mean 100% accurately. Not only did I expect myself to be the best mapper ever, I expected myself to build things EXACTLY as they are in real life. I felt like I couldn’t make a house or a building because I felt like if it wasn’t accurate to a real life one, people wouldn’t like it. I kept trying for years to get past this but it just never worked out. I’d always quit after just only starting. I thought I couldn’t do anything.

I also felt like if I were to use the pre-existing Half-Life 2 assets and models, I was being a bad mapper. And since I couldn’t make any of those by myself, I pretty much just made that a reason to quit, even though pretty much everyone else used them all the time.