How to DETECT a fire?

I’m new in GLUA coding… And now I’ve stucked on question: how to detect a fire? How to just detect its reaction with, e. g. player, on given position?

What I need is to make all entities ignite when they react with fire. wiki.garrysmod.org, any help?

:words: Some thoughts later…
Now I have question: **how to detect that position vector is inside some entity?
*1. I think that Entity:GetModelBounds() *is not for such purposes, cause I need to find actual model’s collisions.
2. PhysObj:GetAABB() is just box. So if you’ll rotate entity - you’ll get the most unexpected results.
3. Entity:FindInBox() - NO-NO!
4. Radius sux. :v:

:rock: SOLVED! See my last message.

Fire isn’t a default entity. If you have fire on your server, it’s from an addon. Figure out the name of the entity and check if the player is within some distance of an entity by that class.

I have experimented with bridges and other large props. Now I can’t figure out how to do it more accurately and simply.

I’ll try using GetCollisionBounds, thanks for idea though.

Some fires are entities, such as map placed fires ( for example in ravenholm hl2 levels )

It only indicates whether entity is ALREADY ignited. I need to detect fire itself.

:words: SO…
Now I have question: how to detect that position vector is inside some entity?

Fire is not entity, fire itself is an effect, you cannot “detect” it.

util.TraceLine is the easiest way to test that.

Before I submitted new question I have realised that.

How to detect that position vector is inside some entity?

As I said a line lower in my previous post, util.TraceLine is the easiest way to test that. Look it up on wiki.

ents.FindInBox maybe?

Oh, thanks, I’ll get try! It should work.

I have a question. Are you using model for fire?

No - no way. I have to use the model of entity without fail.

Try looking for env_fire

Seems like I can’t get environment states on entity with GLua…

:words: New problem