How to make a hud timer?

I’m trying to make a timer for my server that is displayed on everyone hud. It’s going to countdown from 30 min, then say that the purge has begun, then countdown from 10 min. My problems: I’m not good with lua so how would I make one? Also, I don’t know here I would put the timer when I’m done (I use darkrpmodification addon).

All help appreciated!

(I looked on the wiki, but didn’t understand.)

timer.Create
timer.TimeLeft

So, uhm, I’ve never actually seen or played The Purge, but from what you’re asking for, I’m going to assume it’s something like this;
[lua]
function StartPurge(startmins, endmins)
– do your shit here when the purge starts
timer.Create(“PurgeCountdown1”, startmins * 60, 1, function()
– do your shit here when the purge countdown 1 ends, and the purge countdown 2 starts!
timer.Create(“PurgeCountdown2”, endmins * 60, 1, function()
– do you’re shit here when the purge countdown 2 starts?..
end)
– do your shit here when the purge ends??
end)
end
[/lua]
Then, to start this you would just run StartPurge(30,10) – Which is what you described?.. So, if you then want to draw this on a HUD, you need to use timer.TimeLeft which returns a number as stated above.
[lua]
timer.TimeLeft(“PurgeCountdown1”) – for countdown 1…
timer.TimeLeft(“PurgeCountdown2”) – for countdown 2…
[/lua]
The rest is pretty obvious. (Don’t blame me if I understood The Purge wrong in any way)

Thank you so much, but… I don’t know where to put these codes for my server. (i.e. what file to paste it into.)

That’s not a complete addon, so theres no drag & drop content. It’s pretty obvious, though. You could just put it in shared to keep it all simple 'n shit, and use if SERVER then, if CLIENT then… etc, but that’s up to you.

That’s the problem, I have no idea what shared.lua to put it in. If anyone could put a filepath that would be great.