How to make GOOD weapon LODs???

Hello there guys,

Im a total newb in modelling and I started from editing people’s original work to learn.So as I found an unused Dragunov SVD model in the awesome FA:S 2 addon’s files I decided to make a SWEP out of that model to play
with.But soon i realised there were no LODs for it.I tried to make LODs by simplifying the detailed model with polygon reduction in XSI Mod Tool with various settings but it didnt work as expected.The results
were ugly models that make ur eyes hurt from 1km away:suicide:.So could any of u modelling veterans tell me what im doing wrong and how to make proper, respectable LODs for guns?I really appreciate any help here as theres
no way I can figure out myself or with these linear official XSI guides.

Thanks in advance:)

I think you might not get a solid set of answers here - LODs are generally for people concerned with performance, something mods are not well known for. That said, the concept is simple, you just remodel it a few times with tighter and tighter polygon budgets. It can be very time consuming, and getting an LOD to look passable can be a challenge when you have less then 100 vertices to play with. You also need to decide if you want to uvmap these low poly models to the same textures, or specifically use lower resolution ones and bake the textures on.

Is your computer running your addon so poorly that you need LODs? I mean it’s nice that you’re thinking such things from a professional standpoint, but the chances of your one addon dragging a computer down to its knees is pretty slim. If it’s already from a source mod, it should run fine with LOD0.

Thanks for the advice Lt ,really useful feedback! :slight_smile: Although I hoped not to be advised like such, as I am a little lazy,it seems remodeling as u suggested is the only right way to make a proper LOD.Modeling isnt an easy or quick job for sure!