How to start out?

Hey,

Got interested in programming after I registered here and checked this section, it’s pretty neat what people can create with lua in gmod.

So i’m curious on how to get started, i’m willing to learn, and i have minor experience in programming, so guide me to where i can start learning, and if somebody here is an expert, it would be amazing if i could add you on steam so you can help me whenever c:

thanks

I am pretty new to glua (garry’s mod lua) myself (as you can see with my immense amount of stupid questions). I started out learning a bit of Java, and with that coding knowledge, I moved to lua. I watched MyCosmicSeagull’s tutorial videos for a start, and then continued learning via experimentation, the wiki and facepunch (the stupid questions I mentioned before).
Now, please keep in mind that this is just the way I learned to script glua. You might want to take another route, as it’s probably not suitable for everyone.

<<< Add me on steam and spam me all you want with stupid questions.

Read don’t just watch.
Practice don’t just observe.
Anything you want to do that is easy has been asked before and has been answered, never make a new thread and if you cant find an answer for the question use the Problems that dont need a thread thread.

Try things yourself and do some research. Don’t waste people’s time for what can be found on Google or the wiki. If you can’t get it right or can’t find it, feel free to ask.

Add me on steam if you ever need help.

Also look here http://wiki.garrysmod.com/page/Main_Page for stuff you might find “fun” and just go at it.

Thank you all for the support, I really appreciate it! <3

I can provide help as well, just PM me and I should be able to give you some assistance.

If you want to get into scripting in lua, I reccomend you download this addon;