How to understand GLua better.

Does anyone have any advice or know how can someone (ME) understand GLua better ?
I asked a few coder and they were saying that I should read someone’s else code. I looked in to other people code but I couldn’t understand to much because I know the basics but I don’t understand how they create custom function and what they have to use to make them, what parameters and things like that.
I hope someone will know how other people like me could understand it better.

Q: How did you learned LUA ?

I suggest reading the first three chapters of the official lua guide to get basics dow

In case you don’t already know…
Gm12 wiki (copy hosted by someone else)

And the new one

These are the most helpful.

I pretty much know the basics. I can’t say i’m a complete noob at GLua.
The thing is the only things I can do are HUD’s, Scoreboards and Derma Menus.
But I want to know for example how to make: Round System, Spectator Mod,Money System,XP (I guess once I know how to do things like this I will know how to make custom function.)

[editline]30th May 2013[/editline]

I use them a lot but sometimes there are things I can’t find.

It’s important to know exactly what you’re trying to make before you make it.
It may sound like a simple concept, but a vision without structure is doomed to fail.

When you come up with an idea for an addon, you need to know exactly what you want. You need to know exactly how the system must function. Do you get XP for killing a monster? Do you get it for the last shot or do you get some for hurting it too? How much? Is there a modifier? What is that defined by? How do players open their level menu? How do they assign points? How are these points saved? A little planning can go a long way, especially with Derma and HUDs.

Before you start making anything, always ask yourself three things:
What will it do? --What is the function of my script?
How will it work? --How will it function?