How would one begin LUA?

Hello I’m quite new to this section and I was wondering

How would one code LUA?

I read the FAQ and it had a link to the GMOD Wiki LUA Section but no content was posted there

Any of you have good places to start at? Website links or anything of the sort?

First of all, WHAT do you want to code? A gamemode? Server addons? If you just want to make nice guns, you don’t need to really know Lua

Hmmm, I would say something like a Simple Gamemode possibly.

And for the part with Guns, While I probably won’t bother I’d be nice to know what people use for creating cool guns.

When I started all those years ago, I read all the way through the first edition of PIL. I still reference it occasionally.

If you’re looking for a general Glua resource, I wouldn’t know where to point you. The tutorials on the new wiki are sparse and a bit hard to understand without prior Lua knowledge. The old wiki had tons, but most of it won’t appy to the various new systems pushed in the update.

[editline]15th January 2013[/editline]

Also, for more in-depth definitions of functions, check out the manuals (there are links to them on the PIL page).

The problem with PIL is that it is meant more for people with previous programming knowledge who want to know how to use Lua specifically rather than learning to program in general.

So, really, the question is are you interested in learning to program? A guide along the lines of this should give you an idea of what it would take and the kind of commitment programming takes.

The most important step of the process is actually liking programming and being interested in it in general.