HTML in S&Box

Hello.

I’d just like to receive information regarding how HTML will be used for creating and designing HUDs etc. In what situations will you be able to use HTML (& CSS) in S&Box?

1 Like

That’s all that we know now, and it’s XML not HTML

1 Like

I see, thanks.

1 Like

Looks like HTML being called with C# to me

2 Likes

Thats not html, that’s still panorama / XML. What garry meant about not using XML is that we will define the code you posted from C#. The XML part is removed since then.

4 Likes

I’m no expert and it may not be HTML but I think HTML/CSS experience will help for sure

2 Likes

i think s&box ll use something like CEF

1 Like

For those uninitiated, HTML is a derivative version of XML, which came first. If you know HTML, then you effectively know XML.
XML will be the schema/framework for UI content, but the design can still be done with a combination of CSS, JS & also C# method bindings.

2 Likes

No. JS is completely removed and Garry said he wants to get rid of the XML part as well

1 Like

The one thing I love in gmod with CEF is that you can design universal UI components that will look and function the same way on both your server and your website if you want.

I was working on a web-based inventory system for gmod, I developed and tested it using webpack, react, redux and all that fancy shit, testing it in my browser and deployed it into the game.

In theory I could easilly allow players to manage their inventory via a web browser outside gmod and it would look and function the same. Such compatibility gives you power to implement wonderful seamless web integration.

I am really afraid that we won’t be able to achieve this with Panorama and C# only sice those aren’t compatible with web browsers, but we’ll see.

1 Like

Garry’s experimenting with UI now, so expect some news or wiki updates on it soon/in the next devblog

1 Like

Where did he say that?