I dont have a crosshair in gmod

It has been like this for a long time now, but i just now got around to asking about it because i started playing gmod alot more, and it is getting really fucking annoying not having a crosshair. The CSS crosshair still works, but the HL2 one is missing. Also i should mention that i am running gmod in -dxlevel 80. It is really hard trying to use the tool gun without a crosshair, so if anyone knows a solution to this problem, help would be greatly appreciated

Open up the console
Type in “crosshair 1”

Then goto Program Files/Steam/steamapps/username/garrysmod/garrysmod/cfg and look for a file named “autoexec.cfg”. Open it in Notepad, and look through it until you find either “crosshair 0” or “cl_drawcrosshair 0” and change the 0 for 1.

If there is no “autoexec.cfg” then it’s probably an addon that’s causing it. If that’s the case, post a screenshot of your addons folder.

ok i tried all that, and there is a file named autoexec.cfg, but… when i open it with notepad it is blank

go do that

ok well i have alot of addons…

My crosshair was broken by an addon called Half-Life Renaissance (http://www.garrysmod.org/downloads/?a=view&id=57033) for some reason. I found this thread looked for the file but it wasn’t even there. The only files I have in the folder cfg are: config.cfg, config_default.cfg, content.txt, gmod_cvars_cl.txt, gmod_cvars_sv.txt and server_blacklist.txt please help me i hate not having a crosshair.

I tried using an addon (http://www.garrysmod.org/downloads/?a=view&id=36678) which allowed you to customize your crosshair it gave you presets and options so you could edit it but now an update to garry’s mod has broken this addon.

I did make a backup of my gmod folder before starting to use addons but for some reason it does not have the file.