I really want to acces s&box as a programmer

I am a game developer/programmer. For now, I can’t call myself a professional but I do enjoy programming and developing games. I used Unity, Unreal and Godot. I really want to try s&box. What should I do?

Not much to do other than wait right now. Keys will be distributed more broadly later down the line.

1 Like

A lot of us are developers waiting for our keys. All anyone can do is wait and hope. Although I should note that if you’re not an experienced developer, I’m not sure how much you’d enjoy the current state of the game right now. I’m just hoping they get the site up and running where we can link our github, projects, and apply for a key. I remember Garry saying something in discord a little while ago about wanting to do that.

5 Likes

Your best bet is to be active in the official Discord and show your work. At the moment, a person with devpreview has to nominate you for you to get a chance at a key. Just don’t DM people with the devpreview role, just be active in the Discord and hope for the best.

3 Likes

we all want access but we just have to wait. I get it because I 3d model and its better to create maps in engine. but we just have to wait. the best thing you can do is show off your work in forums so maybe if you show your skill maybe on of the devs might give you a key.

Maybe he told that it wasn’t his job. But if he used to work on Unity and making scripts by himself he could enjoy to start learning about making gamemodes and some addons :wink: Anyway we are all in the same hole waiting for our keys haha

1 Like

Really unless you’re a genius and showcase some actual AAA game stuff, the chances of a newcomer average developer getting a key are so slim, you’d actually have a better chance buying a channel with lots of subscribers, making lots of false Gmod / S&box videos, and then message a developer for a key to showcase the game on your channel.

2 Likes

Thank you for your understanding.

1 Like