Idea - could I make money porting models?

Read the whole thing before you post, please - I recognize this is a potentially controversial topic

This thread is mostly just me testing the waters, seeing if anyone is interested before setting up a system.

I got a pretty decent response to my Oblivion ports, and quite a few people asked me to port more, even though I’d said that I was moving on.

However, I have been unemployed for quite some time, and I’m starting to run out of money. I’ve given this some thought, and decided I might try making a bit of odd cash by porting models by request.

How I’m thinking it would work is this: You request a model or ten from a game I can port from. I port it, and show screenshots to prove it’s done. You transfer the money, probably via Paypal. I upload it to garrysmod.org or such. This way, nobody can get ripped off.

I’m not a lawyer, but I fully believe this would be legal. Especially when it comes to porting mod content, since almost all that I’ve seen have had open licenses.

Even the stock Oblivion stuff would be legit: the money wouldn’t be for the model itself, since I don’t have rights to it, but rather to port it. Since Bethesda is relatively lenient on modders, I don’t think they’ll raise trouble, especially if I code a lua module that checks to see if you have Oblivion (or whatever game) first.

I believe I have heard of someone doing this before, but he was rather unpopular, since he only released them to people who paid, and likely ran into legal issues. I’m avoiding that: even if you aren’t the one paying, you’ll still get the models. Paying just lets you choose which ones.

I’m undecided on price as of yet, but I’m not going to be crazy with it: my absolute upper bounds would be $1 per model, and more likely 25c per model. A quick conversion: 15-60 pence, 20-70c euros, for the people outside the US.