[Ideas] Using Kinect for Garry's mod gamemodes

Hi there.
So, we’ve got the Kinect support for Garry’s mod! I think it is a huge advantage for the game itself, and it can bring a lot of fun with itself.

I am not a lua coder, I does not know how to “speak it” (and I’m not into learning it too), but I have tonns of ideas about how we could use the Kinect for Garry’s mod. I think we could have a lot of new and fun gamemodes, and maybe it wouldn’t even be so hard to code. It might have some problems too, of course, like, not everybody (or I think only about 1 out of 10 Garry’s mod users) have a Kinect, and even if you have it, you need all kinds of stuff, like enough space, other Kinect players and of course, mood.

So, I would be willing to join anyone who is interested in making gamemodes, and using Kinect in it. I have experience in Hammer, even if only a little bit, so I could help in that part of the work. If you are interested in this thingy stuff, you may drop me a mail at marchello.1337@gmail.com, or just leave a reply on this post.

A few ideas:

• Soccer
  • Box
  • Racing
  • Movie making ?gamemode? (Yeah, for recording videos)
  • Walking in-game without walking in real life
  • And could be a few more…
    Yes, they do look like the ones we have for Xbox already, and these may be only good for sport gamemodes.
    I think just because it is Garry’s mod, it does not have to be only about setting up it, having fun for a few hours, then packing it away. I think Gmod have plenty of addons, and this option could make the whole thing wider, giving a new style for it.

I do see the problems in this idea, but I also see various solutions for it too.

It could work, but yeah. The gamemode would be rather unpopular due to the lack of people who actually have a Kinect. They wouldn’t need much space if they have the Windows variant, but it is still rather expensive.