Ignorant people advertising.

Hi all, I own a server which gets between 130/150 the majority of the day and I’m getting sick and tired of ignorant/rude people coming into it and spamming the chat with their own server IP to try and steal my players.

I have one question for the community, would anyone actually join a server where the owner/admins go from server to server spamming their chat to advertise? In my honest opinion I would certainly not. All it tells me is that the server is ran by ignorant people.

Opinions?

Depends on the server I’m on. If I was on a crappy server and looking to change, then yes. Which is the target audience.

If I was an admin and someone came onto my server advertising like that, I’d simply ban them.

Of course we ban them, that goes without saying.

I just don’t see why anyone would join a server where they attempt to get you via spamming other peoples servers. It just shows bad management straight away, but maybe that’s just me…

“All it tells me is that the server is ran by ignorant people.”

Tells is in the past tense. Thus, it should be, “All it tells me is that the server is run by ignorant people.” Might use the “ignorant” label more cautiously going forward. I’m sure the advertisers know other server owners don’t appreciate the advertising; they just don’t care. It’s not ignorance at all.

I’m asking for opinions from people regarding other server owners spamming their IP’s, not an English lesson. Thanks anyway.

yeah. This is one way of advertising my server I would not do.

Unfortunately advertising will always be an issue, people get jealous when they see you have a more successful than they do, so they try and skim off a few to populate their own server.