Importing a Source Filmmaker/Garrysmod Model into Blender

Hello Modelling Community!

I’ve been using Gmod and SFM for posing purposes for around 6-7 years now and I’ve finally decided that it’s probably a good idea to get the hang out of a 3D modelling programm.
I am using Blender and I’m trying to use it as a rendering tool. The basic idea is that I import a Source Model into Blender to pose it and then use all the different tools Blender has to offer to make it look as good as possible. Basically the same as SFM but with Blender.
Correct me if I’m wrong but I’m guessing I need:

–> The model itself
–> All the different textures+bumpmaps and the like via GCFScape
–> The .phys file for the rig, or else posing the model is going to be impossible I guess

So far I can decompile models and get them into Blender via the Source Blender Tools so atleast I got that working by myself.

My question to you is how do I get the textures + bumpmaps and most importantly the rig onto the model for posing purposes?
I have found a video on how to get the textures via GCFScape so I could probably get that working but I don’t know if this covers all the different texture layers like bump maps and the like so I’d also be grateful for indepth inputs on this subject.
I have absolutely no idea how to setup the rig for the model though so any help here is appreciated.

I’m also trying to get the hang of 3D Modelling in general by reverse engineering those models.

I know I am asking for a lot here but I’d be grateful for any help!
Thanks in advance.

• you only need the .smd, .qc, and .vta to import into Blender ( and vta only if you need flexes. ) Just import the .qc using Blender Source Tools and you’re good to go
  • use VTFEdit to convert from VTF to .tga; these files will load into Blender fine, you’ll just have to link them in the node editor. Look up a tutorial on Cycles and specifically how to use its nodes, which is what you’ll likely want to use.