Is it even worth it?

My friend and I are trying to learn Lua the excruciatingly hard way by making a fully-functional, hyper-pimped RP gamemode, but is there even a point in making one without amazing custom models, sounds, and modules? Is there even a point in competing with DarkRP, Tiramisu, or PERP? Should we drop the idea in favour of some new, original gamemode idea or just fucking do it just to do it? I ask because this sort of thing is what kills any effort I want to put into ventures, “Has it been done before?” and “If it has been done before, why would anyone give a shit about a couple of noobs making yet another POPULAR GAMEMODE TYPE HERE?”

No, you’re doing it wrong.

Why voluntarly learn something he hard way? Write multiple simpler scripts until you’re confident to do a larger project.

I’m pretty comfortable programming in Lua so far. Of course, I still make little scripts to test out new methods I’ve never tried before or to get a better understanding of subjects in GLua or even regular Lua that I don’t get, but I get the style for the most part, and I’ve programmed in a couple languages in the past so I’m not one to try access a variable that isn’t in the scope or not sanitize nor pre-format my SQL queries or what have you. I figure that doing something more difficult, like creating a complex gamemode, would just be a better way to progress my understanding of GLua.

The problem is whether it’s worth it or not to create the gamemode type in question, because, really, what hasn’t been done by PERP, Tiramisu, CakeScript, or DarkRP?

Well if you put it like that, then: “No, nothing is ever worth doing. Somebody else already did it, why bother?”

I am by no means an expert in RP but I can safely assume that these gamemodes are not perfect.