Is it possible?

Hi everyone! Just to introduce myself, I am fluent in C++, and I have been playing GMod for maybe two years now. I am very familiar with running servers, and I just got into running a GMod server and modding the Lua. I think it is amazing. Here’s the deal. For my server/gamemode, I will need a map made that will have a creaky wooden dock with water, with some buildings on the other side, and a ship or two if possible that are on the sea facing side of the dock. this will all be set at nightime under a starry, moonlit sky. I just learned how to use Hammer, and I am in love with it. So here is my question: Should I make the map myself, and if I should how long would it take? And, if you think I should have someone else do it, how much do you think it would cost?

Thanks,
TheSpy7

Make it yourself, will be better practice

Thanks, will do so.

Depends on the size, shape and style of the buildings, but the rest is easily possible. A dock with water and boats isn’t unheard of, can’t take more than a few hours if you’re doing a really detailed, cool dock. The buildings behind it, though, might take a while. If they’re just a few blocks with doors and windows on a hill, then the map will be done in less than a day. If you’re gonna try and make a port city with enterable buildings and sidewalks and patios, it might take a while - and might look not too good either, since you just started out in Hammer.

Thanks for the good advice. PM me your email address, you seem like you know alot about this.

you seem so enthused

i miss that

Haha, yeah. I am really confident that my game mode will become a large success.

What is your gamemode anyway? It seems like it will be fun

this feel… :frowning:

Well, from my point of view we need a bit less of this and a bit more enthuse towards requests. Because not everyone has the time to work on there Projects.

I’m sure a few of us will be happy to give you tips and tricks when using hammer.

Feel free to add me on steam