Kind of curious as to what the best way to weld is.

I’ve been playing Gmod for a few years, and over those few years, i’ve had so many contraptions that i’ve given up on because of shitty welding. I would like to know what is the best way to weld props together, and have the weld be the strongest (Weight settings, proper tool usage, etc etc.) I just find myself always having welds that are super floppy, and then changing the weights around in no specific order until it kind of stays okay, but still not satisfactory to me. Parenting isn’t an option.

If anyone wants to post how they normally get the strongest welds, that would be awesome.

Weighting properly, and keeping props that are closer in weight together gives the strongest welds.

I still recommend parenting for most of the stuff you do. You lose the inertia of the objects you parent, but it cuts down on server loads a great deal. If you want the physics box you can weld to a baseplate and then parent the object to the chip on your baseplate. It still removes the entity overhead, but creates events when the hulls collide with objects or the ground.

Welding, Parenting, or Welding and Parenting are really your only options for constraining contraptions that you use online, Polyweld and other similar tools that use the custom addon queryphys do not work properly, and are not safe to use in multiplayer.

Can you elaborate further on welding and parenting? I would like to parent, but the whole thing where they don’t have hitboxes is turning me off. And what do you mean the chip on my baseplate?

By “chip on your baseplate”, I’m pretty sure that he means to use Wiremod to add a chip on a heavy central prop, which you’ll build around.

There’s also Perma Poly Weld, if it still works.