Looking to make a l4d2 movie

Hey guys recently picked up garys mod in a steam sale, as i was told it would probably be the best tool to achieve what i have in mind.

Anyway i have recently stopped mapping for css, and decided i wanted to make a short(2-4min) movie based on l4d2. I hadnt seen this done before until i stumbled onto this youtube video. Now im not sure how exactly the author accomplished that, or what tools he used, but that is the sort of short movie/film im going for.

So i guess my question is, would garys mod be able to do something along those lines?(even if not to the same level as that movie) If not what would u guys suggest i use to do it with?

Thanks for any help,
big

That video you posted is the official trailer for the game. It’s the intro to the game when you launch it, same as L4D2. Which means the “author” is Valve.

Well I’m no expert but you could possibly make a video along the lines of that trailer by using Gmod and learning to animate models using a modelling program

But that’s a professional quality movie created by Valve themselves and it’s unlikely you could do something that looks that nice

They also use a modern build of Source Filmmaker combined with imported animation from Maya and high res textures using the now taken out mat_picmip -10 command.

Short answer: Red Bull and H.A.T. Addon

Ahh ok didnt know that was the game’s trailer, that explains why its so good. But i dont need it to be that good, i was just using that movie as an example of what i wanted to do.

So im still tossing up between doing this in gmod or just using the l4d2 authoring tools. What do you guys think?

Hmm dont know what any of that means OneFourth, could you please explain?

Thanks so far,
big

First of all signing your posts is unnecessary

second of all, he’s naming addons you’ll need to do it