Lots of noob questions -help is great for karma :)

So, I’m a total noob at this Garry’s mod thing. I have Half life eps 1 and 2, CSS, Portal and TF2, now all that’s left is learning how to use it! So I’m going to just fire off some questions and I appreciate any answers!

Since I’m new, I don’t really have any idea what the hell to do. I got the Wiremod and the Phx3 things, and I downloaded some texture packs and weapons and spaceships (that I don’t know how to make fly!), but I don’t know what to do with any of it.

What are some cool things that I can work on building as a beginner that will help me learn the ropes?

Also, what is Darkrp? Half the servers I try to join seem to have “rp” in the title, and everybody is running around doing I have no idea what, but nobody is building anything.

How come when I try to use the turret tool, it just makes a submachine gun that’s laying on its side? That’s not a turret, it’s just a gun that’s laying on the ground!

How do I make spaceships fly :-D?

What are some of the really fun things to do with Garry’s Mod that I should get aquainted with?

Thanks, sorry if I overwhelmed anybody.

1. To start with, just spawn a few crates or something and try out using some of the tools, just to see how they work. I personally had hours of fun when I first got Gmod by just chucking ragdolls around. Try to familiarise yourself with the UI.

2. Have a go a building a simple car with some crates and the wheel tool. That’s usually a good laugh.

3. RP stands for “Roleplay”. It’s a type of Gmod gamemode where people pretend to be a character, and act like they’re a part of a community. I liken it most to when people used to play cops n’ robbers or house or something as a kid. DarkRP is simply the most popular of these game modes, because it’s simple with no-frills.