Lua Tips & Tricks

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/50211087/images/shareyourlua.png

While the wiki is useful when searching for functions, it doesn’t really teach good programming habits, or smart ways to do things.
So, let’s have a thread where we share our tips and tricks!

It doesn’t have to be purely lua code tips, it could also be things like:
** • general programming tips
• useful math equations
• alternate ways to do something
• and anything else you’ve picked up, that you think could be useful to others.**

**Try to provide some sort of code example with your tips (if possible), since that’s what this thread is about! **

P.S: Don’t be afraid to post things that are simple and obvious, because it may not be as obvious to new coders.

Looking forward to seeing what you will share with the community! :joy:

I’ll get the thread started with a few tips and tricks I’ve picked up:

[sp](I have experience in other languages, but I’m still fairly new to lua, so correct me if anything’s wrong)[/sp]

1. Toggle a boolean between True and False

myBool = !myBool

**2. Make positive numbers negative, and negative numbers positive **

myNumber = -myNumber

3. Tween any number towards 0, and stop at exactly 0

if myNumber != nil and myNumber != 0 then 
        myNumber = myNumber - math.Clamp( myNumber, -0.5, 0.5 ) 
end

//Change -0.5 and 0.5 with how much you want the number to raise/lower each time the code is being called.
//Since this needs to happen over time, you should put it in a Think function (or any other function that happens over time)

4. Getting the angle between 2 vectors:

myAngle = ( targetVector - startVector ):Angle()

//This will create an angle aiming in a line from startVector towards targetVector.

5. Smarter validity checks without getting lua errors:
Example: we want to check if our table exists and if it contains a value, [sp](table is just an example, could be something else)[/sp]
so we COULD do something like this: