Make someone stay dead on death

I’ve tried to make it when a player dies they stay dead. Using DoPlayerDeath, it’s got ply:Spectate and I’ve tried things from PlayerDeathThink making a respawn counter and returning false from the wiki. Can’t get players to stay dead.

What’s the easiest method to use to keep a player as a spectator?

function GM:PlayerSpawn( ply )

GAMEMODE:PlayerSpawnAsSpectator( ply )
 end

Maybe this im not sure?

I got it to work with some crazy code workaround, not bothered really no ones gonna be looking at the code of my server. But now how do you respawn alive characters back to the spawn point? So I can put everyone back on round start.

Also try this? Its neater

function GM:PlayerDeath( victim, inflictor, attacker )
 GAMEMODE:PlayerSpawnAsSpectator( ply )
end

Im not really good with lua but I guess you should be able to figure out what to do from that.

Also Explain better? So you want players to re-spawn from spectators? Or players that are alive to respawn?

[editline]30th June 2014[/editline]

Not to sure about re-spawning from spectator. Im not that useful when it comes to lua but thats all i could think of XD im an idiot :suicide:

I know Skate has posted the answer, but if you figure out another way to do it (or his way doesn’t work), it’s helpful to put the code here to help other people who search and find this thread.

Well it’s by no means helpful as it only works to my gamemode. I make it so under PlayerDeathThink it sets their team to Dead and does KillSilent this keeps them dead. If I do that under PlayerDeath they don’t stay dead they come straight back. But for my gamemode I need PlayerDeathThink for my end of round stuff.

I might try that though since I’d rather use spectator than a team.

Idiot code. 2 Stupid :v:
Removed.

Why on earth are you doing it like that Skate? You’re overthinking it.

[lua]function GM:PlayerDeathThink(ply)
return false
end[/lua]