Mapping Advice

Can any mappers give me some advice? I’m very new to mapping. Right now i’m working on my first map… atm it only has 1 building and a lot of flat area. lol. Thanks for any CONSTRUCTIVE advice! : D

Specific & general info is appreciated!

Depends on what sort of advice you want

1: Never release your first map.
2: Never ever make fullbright map.
3: when in doubt, look or ask around.
4: Avoid repetitive textures. A room is not made out of pure blocky concrete/bricks/wood.
5: Lighting is the most useful component you’ll ever find throughout your mapping career.
6: Playtest often and make note to yourself about the map.
7. No wall are 1 unit or 256 units thick. They’re 8 units. There are some exceptions.
8. Plan out your map often, get inspiration from other mappers or use photos to get ideas for your map.
9. Don’t rush.
10. Have fun.

#7 is a mapper preference. I use 16 unit thick walls and have since Quake 1.

My walls vary, depends on the building type really, interior walls on a average house are normally always 8 units just for scale though. Whereas on a building with a older theme the walls may be thicker. Sometimes I just use the textures to gauge it as some do actually work well as measuring sticks (not just dev ones)

Thanks! And is there a certain thickness that allows bullets to pass through or am i stupid for asking?

Good advice? As i’m just starting just general advice will do… i r 2 ignant 4 hard tings.

1. No wall are 1 unit or 256 units thick. They’re 8 units. There are some exceptions.

Depends on the material. Wood slates/plywood is usually 1, the average house is probably 8, concrete 16, etc.

I’ve always thought the 8 units wall is the default size.

And that’s depend on the game/mod you’re making your map for. I think there is an article somewhere on Valve Developer Wiki that has information regarding the bullet penetrations.

Bullet Penetration only happens in CSS and DOD:S