Model re texture and such

Ok so I know nothing about Texturing in MAYA or 3DS MAX. But I’d like to re texure or re do some of the speculars on some guns.
So I’m new to this stuff. How do I get this

to look like this:

I mentioned this before in a thread and somebody said to change up the alpha’s or something.
can someone tell me what Alpha’s, Normal’s, Diffuse’s and all that stuff is?
Tuts and detailed explanations are greatly appreciated!
again, I’m new to this (I plan to take a Modelling and Animations course in the summer)
so thanks!

Alpha - I cant remember…
Normal’s - Bump Mapping (Gives Texture Detail)
Diffuse - Base Texture (Gives Texture color)

I’d like a tut or a complete explanation :P.
I just want to go about changing shading and stuff

Well, I’d make one. but I cant. ive got some stuff I need to work on right now.

I’m not only asking you I’m asking all of the modelling forum. but sure, take your time :stuck_out_tongue:

Here’s the best I can explain it then:

Alpha: This is just an additional monochrome channel in most image files which can be used for certain features. In source it can be used for transparency, illumination, speculars, and so on. Other channels are red, green, and blue.

Normal map / Bumpmap: This channel is typically a strange blue looking texture. The channels in this mask tell the engine what way to warp the lighting. Essentially this is used to bend the lighting on a flat surface to create shadows and such which make it look a little more 3d. This is most of what makes a flat brick wall look a little more 3d.

Diffuse (also known as albedo in source): This is just the standard color map for a material. It’s responsible for handling how a character will look before all the fancy shaders are added (hair color, skin color, details, dirt, etc).