[MODULE] Engine Calls

This may sound dumb, But im new to this so excuse me. Im stuck trying to figure out how i can call GMod/Source/engine function from my module. I Have found some stuff on source sdk but everything is way outdated for me to use. Any links/help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Download this folder and add it as an include directory (C/C++ > General > Additional Include Directories).

Download this folder and add any libs needed as dependencies (Linker > General > Additional Library Dependencies and Linker > Input).

Set C/C++ > Code Generation > Runtime Library to Multi-threaded (/MT).

Thanks, Helps alot. What headers should I include though? All of them, Or specific.

You don’t need to include anything other than whatever you’re gonna use. If you wanna just give it a test run and have it print a simple message, you can include tier0/dbg.h and use
[cpp]Msg("Hello world
");[/cpp]
That will print to the game console.

Thanks for the help, The functions show up as being defined but when ever I try to build using the function Msg(“Test”) inf my MODULE_OPEN it throws this error

You need to list tier0.lib as a dependency.

Wherever you saved tier0.lib, also put that directory in Linker > General > Additional Library Dependencies.

Now its complaining that is cannot open input file ‘tier0.lib’

Never mind I did it to /mp/src/lib by accident. I really apreciate your help man! One last thing though, Is there a wiki or documetation for source functions like the gmod wiki?

Other than the Valve Developer site, I don’t know.

AlliedModders is pretty helpful, I think, but it’s sort of targeted towards a specific mod. Good as a reference for info, though.

Alright, Well I cannot thank you enough, I had been here nearly 2 hours trying to solve this. Thank you!

[editline]23rd February 2016[/editline]

Hey man, Sorry to re-open this, Im trying to access the engine to excute a client console command. I have included these two files