Moving objects

Having only started making maps yesterday, you can call me a noob if you like. And as a noob, I have a slightly stupid question to ask. I have not found any guides or instructions on how to make moving objects. I found one that tells me how to make an object raise up when you touch it, but it’s not what I need.

I need to learn how to make objects move on a timer. For instance, I have a block I wish to make move 96 units left, wait 15 seconds, then 96 units right, wait 15 seconds, and repeat.

If someone is willing to help me out, or even link me to some tutorials or instructions, I would be very appreciative.

You could use a func_movelinear and a logic_auto, and do this:

Set the func_movelinear move distance to 96 units, also set where to it should move.
Make an output for the logic_auto “OnMapSpawn -> MoveLinear -> Open”.
Now for the func_movelinear, “OnFullyOpen -> !self -> Stop”, “OnFullyOpen -> !self -> Close -> Delay = 15s”. Copy those 2 outputs but replace Open with Close and so forth.

EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out.

Well fuck it. i spent a good 40 minutes procrastinating my homework to type this while texting 4 people and chatting with one on steam. And dammit I’m gonna post it. I don’t even care what ratings i get now.

You could also use two "path_track"s and a “func_tracktrain”. Make a path_track entity, and name it pt_1. Then select it, hold shift, then click it and drag to the next point you want the object to travel to. there should be an orange line connecting the two path_track entities. Hammer will auto-name and connect them. If you want it to continue going back and forth, open the properties on the last one and set next path_track to the name of the first one (pt_1). The next step depends on exactly what you want to travel the path; if you just want a single brush to travel it, go to method 1. If you want a model or anything else to travel along the path, go to method 2.