Multi-User Hammer

Title says it all.

Wouldn’t a Multi-User hammer be amazing? Two people working on the same map, simultaneously, on different computers. If I was a programmer, I would make it. But, unfortuantly, I am not. Any idea why no-one has made it? Is it simply the fact that no-one has thought of it? Or, is it impossible. It would make mapping so much faster and easyer.

Post comments and speculations.

Wasn’t the instance system in portal 2 meant to allow this in some degree? or are you talking about effectivly having splitscreen hammer.

Can already do it in the current hammer with a few tools.

So…you use the instance system that was added in portal (and thus is in ob) and dropbox.

It’s how firegod and i were working on the comp map.

I’m not on about split screen. Both of you see hammer normally. And you see the edits the other person makes to the map, as he/she makes them. And you can edit it at the same time. If you get me?

What is the **Instance System. Care to explain? Also, why do you involve Drop Box?

Drop box is being used so that we could create a virtual drive where we would store the maps and load them to use with the instance entities.

You can use an entity called “func_instance” to load a vmf file into a second vmf file. So you can have a collection of those point entities in a vmf file to see how its progressing. You can also use that to go into the individual files and work on them. The main file will update whenever changes are being made.

Sounds a little confusing. But, I think I understand what your doing?

We are modifying satalite vmfs and automatically updating one. They are all stored via dropbox so we can have constant access. And it was all firegods brilliant idea.