Need Help creating a name script

Hello. I am working on an SWRP server, and I need help with making a name creation system. In a nutshell, what I am aiming for, is when a player first joins, he/she will be prompted with a UI to enter a name, and then after that a string of 5 randomly generated (and preferably unique) numbers will be prefixed to the name. After doing this, they cannot change their name using /rpname or any of the other darkrp name changes. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

bump

GM:PlayerInitialSpawn

vgui.Create

Player:SetPData

Player:GetPData

Add these together, then add some Lua and a bit of magic and you’re done.

I’m new to lua, some extended help would be nice, however I will do my best.

Also using SQL, how could I check if a uid exists, so instead of using initial spawn, it will check if they have data on the table. (This way, I don’t have to completely reset playerdata)

[editline]16th September 2017[/editline]

I have this, however I doubt it would work to check if the data already exists:

function checkForName(ply)
	sql.Query( "SELECT uid FROM swrp_playernames WHERE uid = " .. ply:UniqueID() .. ";")
end)

Does the gamemode even use the built-in SQL system like that? I mean you can literally count the number of rows where rows > 1 is valid data.

Maybe

sql.QueryValue? Check whether the return value is valid and boom, valid entry.

Yes, the base gamemode is DarkRP, and I want to make sure that a UID has data, not that there IS data, so if someone joins the first time but crash or leaves without doing the UI, they will be prompted with it until they have data on the table.

Is it just me or is PData in any case easier to use than SQL Queries for a beginner to coding?

i dunno, is it?

Seeing that ply:GetPData( “FirstJoin”, false ) and ply:SetPData( "FirstJoin, true ) is basically doing the same as a big SQL Query but way simpler I suggest you use that instead.

–snip–