Need help creating something to instantly regenerate health every 3-4 seconds

As the title suggests, I need assistance in creating something that instantly regenerates your health in 3 or 4 seconds. I tried using timers but I couldn’t get them to work, I am rather new to Lua and don’t know what could be wrong as no errors are spit into console either. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

What do you mean by “something?” Like an entity?

Regenerate… Just use the EntityTakeDamageHook and create a timer.simple wo runs the ply:MaxHealth stuff…

I am referring to the player; to go into depth, let’s say he gets damaged. In a couple seconds he instantly regenerates to a preset value. The something I am referring to is a SWEP, that when held, does this, to elaborate. The SWEP I am working on works perfectly fine but I still need to implement this feature.

Should this happen when the SWEP is equipped or just on the player? If the former, should it be automatic or require them to hold on a fire key?

it should happen passively while the swep is equipped

local flRate = 1
local iAmount = 1

-- Serverside
hook.Add("Think", "HealthRegen", function()
	local tPlayers = player.GetAll()
	local flCurTime = CurTime()

for i = 1, #tPlayers do
		local pPlayer = tPlayers*

-- Heal if they have the weapon passively
		if (pPlayer:HasWeapon("weapon_whatever")) then
			local flNextRegen = pPlayer.m_flNextRegen

-- Regen time hasn't been set yet or it's time for another heal
			if (flNextRegen == nil or flNextRegen <= flCurTime) then
				local iHealth = pPlayer:Health()
				local iNewHealth = math.min(iHealth + iAmount, pPlayer:GetMaxHealth())

-- If the player isn't at max health
				if (iHealth ~= iNewHealth) then
					pPlayer:SetHealth(iNewHealth)
				end

-- Heal again after flRate seconds
				pPlayer.m_flNextRegen = flCurTime + flRate
			end
		end
	end
end)

Oh! Thank you so much. I’ll test that out right now!