Need help with my mapping

I’ve been mapping for about 2 years now and I know the basics creating brushes, carving, using no draw, adding dynamic lighting, adding hdr, and ect. I want to know if there is there any tutorials that can improve my mapping any further? I’m still learning triggers so maybe link me a video about triggers. I just want to expand my mapping capability.

Take a look at these tutorials and try some scripted events: http://www.facepunch.com/showthread.php?t=775560

Scripting is the most funny part in my opinion. At least when it’s done and everything’s working as it should there’s always a big smile on my face.

You’ve been mapping for two years and you still use carve? Well, tehn: NEVER USE CARVE EVER EVER.

It’s good that you know how to carve. It’s even better if you know not to.

I still don’t get what’s so wrong with carving. I know exactly what it does. So why should I build the same architecture with brushes instead carving it with a simple click? The clipping tool does the same and no one is complaining. I know that there are some faces that are textured which shouldn’t be but that’s fixed within a few seconds. If it had been so unprofessional, Valve wouldn’t have it built in. I don’t get it.

In alot of situations, carving can create undetectable and undeletable micro-brushes that fuck up your compilation process. It’s also just a cheap shortcut that produces sub-par results most of the time.

It’s a quick way of doing something that can be done much better and more efficiently with clip.

Carving doesn’t always do it the most effiecent way…

No one said it was.

Wait clippinf doesn’t mean craving? What the hell is carving then?

Go tools>carve

It’s pretty handy for those complex doorways, where you want to give a high amount of detail in a short amount of time.

This thread turned into a carve thread ._.

Anyways, I suggest you learn how to make complex NPC interactions.

NO NO NO! DO NOT CARVE. DO NOT. It is horrible to do so.