Need some help with entities

So I have just started Lua coding recently, and I am a developer for a SWRP server, I am trying to code a custom shop NPC to purchase ships from. I know I can use the F4 menu for that but it isn’t as cool. I have my base entity, but I am not sure how to make it appear like an NPC, open a purchasing menu when E is pressed on it, how to impliment payment, and the spawning of the ship its self, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regarding the use of the Entity, you can use this function https://wiki.garrysmod.com/page/Entity/Use.
Then make a VGUI element appear on use, or whatever else you are using for the shop :slight_smile:

As for the payment, assuming you’re using DarkRP as a base, it provides the following meta functions:

ply:getDarkRPVar("money") //will return how much money ply has
ply:addMoney(50) //will add $50 to the player's balance
ply:addMoney(-100) //will take $100 from the player's balance, same as the one above but note use of a negative value to take vs. add
ply:canAfford(600) //will return true if the player can afford $600, false if not

Use these to interact with the player’s balance.

As :Use is only available serverside, you will have to tell the player to open a menu from the server, using net messages.

Quick example:

//Serverside:
util.AddNetworkString("OpenMenu") //doesnt matter what you put in here, just has to be a string and unique

function ENT:Use(a, caller) //our use function, caller is the player who used the entity
    if(IsValid(caller) && caller:IsPlayer()) then //making sure a player actually used this
        net.Start("OpenMenu") //starting our net message which we cached above
        net.Send(caller) //send it to the player who used the entity
    end
end

//Clientside:
net.Receive("OpenMenu", function() //hook up a function to be called when we receive the OpenMenu net message (which we precached and later sent @ use function on the serverside)