Need some help with the usage of some basic concepts

Hey guys!

As you may understand i’m kind of new to the Gmod lua coding as i’m more of an VB.net/C# coder but well… there it’s allways fun to do something new!

But well guys, I would like to ask you for the help with the concepts of :

Meta // Well, I googled around and what I got is that the word meta means that something is an abstraction from another concept

Hooks // I just can’t understand the concept of using hooks. I just can’t get what they mean and do. And why and how do you use hook.add ?!

: and . // Well, i know how to use them but i would be really glad if someone would be nice and explained these operators.

Well, that’s about it!
So yeah , thanks in advance!

Mike

A metatable in Lua is a table that describes how other tables (and userdata) handle certain events, such as being indexed or called.

Hooks are a way to call functions when certain events occur in the gamemode, for example, adding a hook to the PlayerDeath event will cause your function to be called whenever a player dies.
[lua]local function playerDeath(…)
print(…)
end
hook.Add(“PlayerDeath”, “playerdathhook”, playerDeath[/lua]

The . is used to index a table, for example, if you had a table called foo
[lua]local foo = {}[/lua]
and you add a member to that function called bar
[lua]foo.bar = 2[/lua]
you can index that function with the . operator
[lua]print(foo.bar) – outputs 2[/lua]

The : operator is for calling methods on an object (a table)
When you call the function with : a “hidden” argument is passed to the function which is just the table that is being called on, eg
[lua]object:method()
object.method(object)[/lua]
these are the same.
Inside the function, this hidden argument can be accessed with the variable self.
[lua]function foo:getBar()
print(self.bar)
end[/lua]

I hope I explained that well enough, generally I am bad at explaining things :downs:

[editline]09:41PM[/editline]