New to Lua, what should I do?

I am still brand new to Lua coding. I have had some experience with coding like this, any suggested Game Modes to start out with?

I’d appreciate anything.

Also, I am sorry if this is the wrong section for this. I just thought this might work.

Also, it’s for G-Mod.

And i hope so.

Make what ever you want to make. You are now a gmod god and can create anything.
Ask yourself this, what would i want?

I know, at the end lol. I didn’t think that out. I saw other posts in the forum then I thought to change that then yeah. I hate having my first impression on people while I’m tired. lol.

Well, I tried that too, but like everything basic is made. There’s nothing like, that would really catch someone’s eye.

Make something that YOU really want to make, because you want to make it, rather than because you want to use Lua. That way, you will have an end goal which will keep your attention, so you won’t get bored and give up half way through. Lua is easy. Gmod lua is not so easy, making a gamemode is harder. Making a good gamemode requires dedication and a hell of a lot of free time.

Thanks for the advice, and yeah. I just really have no ideas of what to do. I mean I want some type of Role-Playing game, but I think DarkRP or what ever is covers that. :frowning:

I would try simple addons first, rather than an entire gamemode. But really, like philxyz said, scripting should be something you want to make. I first got interested in Lua because I had a fiery hatred for the ASSMod menu, so I set out to make a better one (see what happened?) and I learned a lot on the way. I’ve never embarked on a project just to know how to use it - you learn how to use things so you can do what you want.