ply:Kill() for several minutes.

May be a simple question, I’m not sure though.

I’m currently developing a gamemode … Euh yea, I’m new to lua, however I want to try and make one … unfortunately problems stop me from finishing it.

I’m coding it’s own admin system, and it’s great so far. The only thing missing, is a “demote” option. The player shall be spawned first of all and then killed for 5 minutes and not able to respawn.

--[[ TO-AS.: ForceTeamSur ]]--
	hook.Add( 'PlayerSay', 'TheOpen127', function( ply, text, isteam )

text = string.lower( text )

if ( string.sub( text, 0, 7 ) == "!demote" ) then
			text = string.Explode( " ", text )
			local victim = TheOpenFind( text[2] )

if ( IsValid( victim ) ) then
				victim:SetModel( "models/player/hostage/hostage_02.mdl" )
				victim:StripWeapons()
				victim:Spawn() --I want the victim to spawn first then die.
				victim:Kill() --for a duration of 5 minutes. But how? With a timer? 
				PrintMessage( 3, victim:Nick() .. "'s character has been demoted by " .. ply:Nick() .. " and will now be a citizen. Wait 5 minutes to be able to respawn again." )
			end

return ""

end
	end )

Thanks in advance. The code is working fine. But I want the player to understand that he can’t break rules and therefore not be able to respawn yet.

use GM:PlayerDeathThink and a variable on a timer

also, 5 minutes is a really long time

Cool, thank you very much. Yes 5 minutes is veeerrryy long ^.^, but I want a serious gamemode and people to feel the pain in waiting ages to respawn.

[editline]1st June 2014[/editline]

Like so? Sorry, I feel bad for asking about everything -.-

t = timer.Create( "Demotion", 5, 1, function()
				end)
				victim:Kill(t)

[editline]1st June 2014[/editline]

Ah, I got it now.

--[[ TO-AS.: ForceTeamSur ]]--
		function GM:PlayerDeathThink( ply ) 
			local t = timer.Create( "Demotion", 300, 1, function()
			end)
		end

if ( IsValid( victim ) ) then
				victim:Spawn()

victim:Kill(t)