Pre-Release Development

I’m a developer looking to get a head start on development in Source 2, however, I don’t have a VR headset and I’m not interested in buying HL:A just for the workshop tools. Are there any plans to release some sort of standalone Source 2 SDK before S&Box is released, or will I have to wait?

1 Like

We don’t know anything about SDK release

1 Like

SteamVR is free and you can open the tools without VR headsets.

Workshop > Create/Modify an Enviorment > Create a new Addon > Show launch command line > remove -vr and -toolsvr and just Windows + r it.

6 Likes

As Kaesar said but slightly more detailed:

You can use SteamVR to get the Source 2 Workshop tools.

Once installed open SteamVR, Click on the SteamVR menu to the top left of the small SteamVR status window, then Workshop > Create/Modify an Environment and create a new environment. Click this newly created addon and create a desktop shortcut with it.

Right-click the shortcut and in the target field, paste in the launch parameters shown in the SteamVR app, but remove -vr and -toolsvr

Before running the shortcut, ensure SteamVR is already running or you will get an error.

1 Like

I’ve read that Valve will release the Source 2 engine for free for the public, except they will take a share on commercial products. I don’t know if it’s true or not, or it was true and they had a change of mind, but I do hope that they release the Source 2 engine. It would be nice working on a “new”, “fresh” engine and learn it in depth.

1 Like

They actually said source 2 would be free as long as your game releases on steam alongside any other platform you want to release it. They said this back on 2017 and planned to release source 2 then but 3 years later and only garry has access to it so i guess its not ready or maybe its not their focus at the moment.

1 Like