Pretty Lua Code

Hey everyone, so I’m new to GLua. Well, I’m new to Lua in general, but I understand the basics of Lua. So, that being said, I already see a big problem with me: I’m OCD as fuck with my code. Now, I know a lot of programmers are like this but it seems like I can’t get it right. No matter what I do, I always see in my code where I can make it prettier.

So, what defines “pretty” code in Lua? Is it spacing the function declaration/ending two lines from the code within the function? Do I make hook.Add only one line below the function ending? Do I space parenthesis out from what they contain? I mean I just want to know what is pretty and what is not in Lua?

It’s all personal perception and preference. Just compare base code to some gamemode’s code to _Josh ‘Acecool’ Moser code and you will see that almost nothing is unified.

[editline]28th February 2016[/editline]

Except spacing. You should always space/tab blocks of code.

I see, I guess it’s true… Thanks for clarifying that! :slight_smile:

Don’t space your parenthesis and don’t use C-like syntax (make your code syntax error-free in normal lua). Anonymous functions are okay:

hook.Add("Think", "think", function()
   print("hi")
end)

Indent to follow scope rules except in the case of

net.Start("a")
   net.WriteInt(1, 16)
net.SendToServer()

Same goes for things like camera operations or stencils. When you indent, be consistent. Space after every comma. Trailing comma in multiline table definitions:

table = {
}

Don’t space before function call parenthesis. Space your operators (1 + 2 + (3 - 4)). Space before starting a comment but don’t space after the --. You can use whatever naming scheme you want (because it’s already all over the place), but I recommend alllowercase or lowerCamelCase (I use lowerCamelCase for variables/functions and UpperCamelCase for class functions). Be very careful when writing Derma because that shit will go 15 levels deep.

^ this.