Printing role specific text upon action

I did look at https://wiki.garrysmod.com/page/chat/AddText and since i’m still learning lua, i am unable to put it together.

Example: upon purchasing a weapon on TTT, text will be placed in the traitor chat, including the person who purchased it’s name. I am not looking to be spoonfed but a little help would be great

make the player use say_team concommand? it’d make the player say it in the team chat, includes the name? Its the simplest solution

I see. Is there a function or hook for when a user purchases a traitor weapon?

If you’re ever unsure or in search of a hook, google it’s name along with ttt or gmod or gmod wiki and you’ll usually find a page with it

You’re in luck, you can find exactly what you want here:

I am trying this:

function TestFunction(ply, equipment, is_item)
   if ( equipment == "weapon_ttt_bomb_station" ) then
      RunConsoleCommand("say_team" ..ply:Nick().. "has bought a bomb station!")
   end
end
hook.Add("TTTOrderedEquipment", "MyTTTEquipmentHook", TestFunction)

RunConsoleCommand: Command has invalid characters! (say_teamseabedshas bought a bomb station! (’ '))
The first parameter of this function should contain only the command, the second parameter should contain arguments.

do [lua] ply:ConCommand(“say_team text”)[/lua]

EDIT:

dosen’t work

You shouldn’t make the player say it, what I’d do is do a for loop through all the players checking if they’re on a certain team using Player:Team and then send it from the server with Player:ChatPrint.

The reason your code didn’t work is because “…” doesn’t create a space it just joins the two strings. And with RunConsoleCommand you need to seperate the arguments with a comma, instead.

function TestFunction(ply, equipment, is_item)
   if ( equipment == "weapon_ttt_bomb_station" ) then
      RunConsoleCommand("say_team", ply:Nick().. " has bought a bomb station!")
   end
end
hook.Add("TTTOrderedEquipment", "MyTTTEquipmentHook", TestFunction)