Problem with stamina simulator: Stamina refreshes by itselfs!

Hi, I’m new to lua programming and I’m working on a gamemode that adds to base gamemode stamina. Basically it’s just a way to limitate sprint duration.
I did not finish it because I’m blocked here.
I think this piece of code just decrease stamina while Speed button is pressed. It works, except that Stamina turns back to its start value after a random time!
Why do this happen?

open_team_menu = function ()
	if LocalPlayer():KeyDown(IN_SPEED) and LocalPlayer():GetNWFloat("Stamina") >= 0.5 then
		timer.Create("Consumo Stamina", 0.1, LocalPlayer():GetNWFloat("Stamina")/0.1, function()
			LocalPlayer():SetNWFloat( "Stamina", LocalPlayer():GetNWFloat("Stamina") - 0.1)
			if LocalPlayer():KeyDown(IN_SPEED)==false then 
				timer.Destroy("Consumo Stamina")
			end
		end)
	end
end

hook.Add("KeyPress","Apri scelta squadra",open_team_menu)

PS: I check Stamina with this:

function GM:HUDPaint()
	draw.SimpleText("Stamina", "Trebuchet24",100,ScrH()-70, Color(255,255,255,255), TEXT_ALIGN_CENTER, TEXT_ALIGN_CENTER)
	draw.SimpleText(LocalPlayer():GetNWFloat("Stamina"), "Trebuchet24",150,ScrH()-70, Color(255,255,255,255), TEXT_ALIGN_LEFT, TEXT_ALIGN_CENTER)
end

Please help me! Thank you!

Don’t use LocalPlayer(), since this is server side. Use ply as a function parameter.

Something like :

open_team_menu = function (ply)
	if ply:KeyDown(IN_SPEED) and ply:GetNWFloat("Stamina") >= 0.5 then
		timer.Create("Consumo Stamina", 0.1, ply:GetNWFloat("Stamina")/0.1, function()
			ply:SetNWFloat( "Stamina", ply:GetNWFloat("Stamina") - 0.1)
			if ply:KeyDown(IN_SPEED)==false then 
				timer.Destroy("Consumo Stamina")
			end
		end)
	end
end

hook.Add("KeyPress","Apri scelta squadra",open_team_menu)

I’d think you’d want to atleast set player’s stamina, for example,

function SetSpawnStam(ply)
	if ( ply:GetNWFloat("Stamina") == nil ) then
		ply:SetNWFloat( "Stamina", 1 )  -- Substitute 1 for whatever starting value.
	end
end