Problems creating an NPC

So, first off I’d like to say that I have no experience with LUA scripting. I do however have some experience with Pawn, which is used in San Andreas Multi-Player, and it highly resembles the c syntax.

I’ve been looking around the internet trying to find out how to make npc’s (NPC shops in particular, where the NPC does not move and allows you to press the use key on him to enter a vgui. I’ve barely found anything on it, and I only found one. This one, however, is 4 years old and probably unreliable. Although old, I decided to try it out considering there weren’t any more tutorials on it. After doing it, I got a ton of errors and managed to fix a few of them, but I am still receiving errors and have no idea if the npc will even work.

This is there error I am getting (I am getting it twice:

[ERROR] gamemodes/carp/gamemode/shared.lua:12: attempt to index global 'ENT' (a nil value)
  1. unknown - gamemodes/carp/gamemode/shared.lua:12
   2. include - [C]:-1
    3. unknown - gamemodes/carp/gamemode/cl_init.lua:1

This is what I got so far:

shared.lua
[lua]
GM.Name = “Cooperative Association Role-Play”
GM.Author = “Steven”
GM.Email = “N/A”
GM.Website = “N/A”

function GM.Initialize()

end

– NPC information

ENT.Base = “base_ai” – Entity is based on “base_ai”
ENT.Type = “ai” – What type of entity it is, in this case it is an AI
ENT.AutomaticFrameAdvance = true – This entity will animate itself

function ENT:SetAutomaticFrameAdvance( bUsingAnim ) – This is called by the game to tell the entity if it should animate itself
self.AutomaticFrameAdvance = bUsingAnim
end
[/lua]

init.lua

[lua]
AddCSLuaFile( “cl_init.lua” )
AddCSLuaFile( “shared.lua” )
include ( “shared.lua” )

– NPC stuff

function ENT:Initialize( ) – This function is run when the entity is created so it’s a good place to setup our entity

self:SetModel( "models/humans/group01/male_01.mdl" ) -- Sets the model for the NPC