Questions regarding frequent MySQL queries

I’m making a gamemode will span across two servers but keep the player’s data consistent. I am using MySQL to go about saving the player’s data, but I’m fairly new to MySQL and don’t know how practical my idea for storage would be.

If I’m only dealing with 100 players at most at a time, would it be alright to update a player’s inventory/money/whatever variable in real time? That is to say, every time a change is made, an update is sent to the database immediately? My other option would be to only load upon a player joining and saving upon a leave, but then if a crash occurs then that means data could be rolled back, and trades where only one party’s items were saved might cause duplicate items.

Please tell me how you guys deal with MySQL or what you think I should do.

In gmod I’ve only ever seen saving on disconnect or at set intervals. I have no idea what the performance is as I have never tested it.
You should try it with your gamemode to save it everytime a change is made. Preferably with a non-remote database(as in all servers and database on the same dedi). Keep us updated on what your tests find out if you do this.

But I’m sure someone has a more thorough answer than I do.

That’s what I was thinking too. Every time a change is made to someone’s data, mark them as “dirty”. Every 60 seconds or so, all dirty users are saved. Is it really better to just update everyone’s data simultaneously on a set interval you think?

Like I said I don’t really have any benchmark data to work with, it’s just how I’ve seen it done.
But in my memory saving it all at once made quite a noticeable lag on a full server. Imagine a coordinated attack where people abuse your instant saving to ddos the server, that would be worse.

Thinking about it this may be the reason for the set interval save.