Real World Replica

So I am very very new to this mapping thing. I have a very basic understanding on how brushes and all that lingo is and means. Looking at all these amazing mappers, creations, etc on here, I am very inspired to make something and share my creations, mistakes, and accomplishments with you guys.

What I have is an idea for now. An idea can burn bright, long, and strong, as long as it is treated right. With the proper care it can turn into something much more. But for now, it is just an idea.

What I have in mind is using real world house plans and designs, and recreating them in Hammer as real and as life scale as possible in relation to the Hammer units.

I li want to get as detailed as to actually making the buildings step by step as they would in real life. Starting with the foundation, frame, plumbing (aesthetic of course), wiring (aesthetic but lights and stuff would work), insulation (aesthetic), walls, brickwork, etc. It would even gone as far as to making the frame depend on aspects like physics (if then foundation or frame isn’t strong enough or constructed improperly, it could cause the structure to collapse.

Since I am among mapping moguls and Gods, I would like to ask for your input, suggestions, and help guide me along this journey. Many thanks, feel free to post your questions, comments, input, etching down below! I’ll be posting my progress.

I’m not trying to burst your bubble or anything but the current physics engine Garry’s Mod uses just would not be able to handle a building that uses physics in the way you’re talking about. You can create constraints for chunks of it but if you’ve ever seen the phys_ map genre, you’d see that buildings that are made that way are very laggy in both how long it takes for a game tick, and for the network to send all the physics updates to its clients.