Removing Blood/gore textures

Will it be possible to remove blood/gore textures/particle/effects in s&box?

If so, how?

Hi, I’m an animator (2D), illustrator, and content creator. Gmod is my favorite game of all time. I am ecstatic about s&box’s development because it’s literally exactly what I wished for while playing Gmod.

One thing I was able to do in Gmod, with the help of a G-mod (get it!), was to remove all blood decals and effects. I’d like to do so in S&box, but I’m not sure how I would approach such a thing. (I assume it would be easier than it was in Gmod but then again I’m not a developer).

Removing blood/gore particles and textures would allow the audience of my family-friendly channel to join me in a relatively family-friendly game.

Will it be possible to remove blood from S&box?

Thanks for your time. Stay safe!

2 Likes

You can just delete the blood and gore textures. S&box is not a game like gmod, we can change and edit anything we want. It’s closer to a game engine like Unity or Unreal than gmod.

6 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply.

I was hoping that would be the answer. I guess all that’s left is to buy the game. (hopefully later this year.)

Have a good one.

1 Like

I like the sound of this. Wholesome 100 Big Chungus.

1 Like

I’ll make sure there’s an option for you

19 Likes

I wonder if setting flags for decals and mark certain ones as “gore/blood” so that a global game option would filter them out would be a great idea? Of course devs would still need to flag them but it’s better than nothing? Then users could tag gamemodes like how you can tag games on steam, and if there’s blood or it isn’t family friendly people could mark that and then maybe we could filter gamemodes based on that. How would you do it?