REQUEST - Levels / Penalties

I am very new to rust (about 3 weeks in) and mainly enjoy the game but there is a request that I think would make the game more fun for new players or for switching servers and that is levels and penalties.

What I mean by this is that if I am a new player or new to a particular server, I begin the game at a HUGE disadvantage to people who have been playing longer on that server. Too the point that some players quit looking for anything themselves and just loot new players who are easy to kill.

Before you point out that PvP is part of the game, please hear me out. I agree with the pvp statement, but it is not really pvp if it is a wood spear vs a ak47. So if there was a leveling system based on time played or something and a penalty for killing someone X number of levels below you then new people on a server could fight people of their level and advanced people can fight advanced people.

I am not sure if this is the right solution, but some solution is needed for people to switch servers or stop playing completely. It gets old doing the same 40 minutes over and over just because someone who has played on the server longer can kill you over and over and just take your items for their needs.

I expect some hate on this post and that is fine, I could be the only one finding it annoying to finally get a furnace and then get mowed down by an ak47 b/c I was unable (not too lazy) to build out of stronger material yet.

Love to hear peoples thoughts on this…

Then wouldn’t there be an even more extreme disadvantage if it were someone who just bought the game versus someone who has been around since Legacy?