RP in a Nutshell

buddy: What counts as an RP server on Gmod? I’m a noob to Gmod in general
me: a gamemode which includes abusive admins, grinders, and griefers under arbitrary set of user enforced rules
buddy: In all seriousness
me: I’m srs
me: that
me: that’s the core experience of RP
buddy: Well, what is it supposed to be like?
me: just grinders but that’s no fun to anyone
buddy: What’s a grinder?
me: someone that does mindless boring tasks to gain in game stuff
me: and the only thing you can buy are weapons
me: and the only thing you can do with weapons is kill
me: and most of the time killing is against the user enforced rules
me: and when that happens admins power trip and ban you

Amazing

The current system involved in RP servers to this day is known as a Cops Vs Robbers system. The main concept of such a system is to have an economy based primarily on a criminal underground with a thin-veil of “RP” covered by other jobs such as Cooks, Doctors, and otherwise. One team which does “stand-out” is the official Enemy X, the Police.

For the most part, all gamemodes with an exception of a few custom servers go about limiting the Police to the best of their capabilities. Such things include only giving the Police two to three magazines of ammo, only giving them a handgun in order to support “realism”, and finally making it so theirs so much red-tape regarding raiding as Police that the only method to get into raids is to falsify information.
One of the most horrifying things about this system is that instead of creating some NPCs to take the job of the Police to act as an Enemy X, they instead push the role on players. These players have the possibility of facing a psychological triggers which can induce acute PTSD, depression, and anxiety over playing a fucking game. Without players as an Enemy X role though, people cannot get their ego-highs from killing underarmed enemies, and because of this, the server will cease to exist without it.