RP - Let's do it right.

I have now actually set up a server, if you are intersted, check it out here:
http://www.facepunch.com/showthread.php?t=1214690&p=37828530#post37828530

Alright. Let me tell you real quick what this is all about.

I recently started playing Garry’s Mod again. Today, I played on an RP server, and I realized that it actually could be fun. Not on this server though. Ridiculous amounts of propblocking, RDM, etc. Admins only cared if it was done to them. Some of you might be able to guess what server I was playing on.

This is not what I am here for though.

I want to do it better.
I want too setup an RP server, and I’m looking for people to join me, as admins, or players.
I am looking to be better at what most servers lack. Proper rules, but not too restricting, active admins that actually help everyone.
Since I am looking to make a server that’s actually good, I am looking for input.
What do you guys suggest for the map? What jobs are definitely necessary, what jobs I should definitely leave out.

I have a proper server machine, I know how to set it up, and I can adjust addons if it is needed.

Any input is welcome and anyone wanting to help is free to add me on steam.

How to do RP right: don’t play RP

Well, when the goal is to play RP, not playing RP is not the best plan.

Well the issue with Roleplay generally isn’t the scripts. It’s usually the age and maturity of its players.

Indeed. Any script, even DarkRP, can work with good players. Until you change the players, no script will help. Sadly, the players won’t change.

How to RP right:

1. Find a script you like. Tiramisu, DarkRP, OpenAura, whatever.
  2. Make the server and set it up. Protect it, allow entry based on steamID. Password protect it for double security.
  3. Create a website. Protect that too. Put the server password on the website, and authorize users to the site as you see fit.