RP_city_72 (WIP)

Hello, this is my first try at a source SDK map. Within about six hours I came up with this.

http://steamcommunity.com/id/THATCAKEISSPY/screenshot/558663568016901665/?
http://steamcommunity.com/id/THATCAKEISSPY/screenshot/558663568016902303/?
http://steamcommunity.com/id/THATCAKEISSPY/screenshot/558663568015420570/?
http://steamcommunity.com/id/THATCAKEISSPY/screenshot/558663568015421200/?

Mainly due to the fact I’m such a nub with hammer I made a completely obviously pro skybox.

What I hope to have in this map as it will be designed for HL2 RP

CWU housing:80%
CPA Housing: 0%
CCH: 0%
Several street areas: 80%
Two parks: 50%
Ration dispenser area: 10%
CWU Shop: 40%
Carshop(Place for dem lolrabals complete with sewers): 0%
Sewer System: 10%
CPA(or MPF) Outpost: 0%
Nexus: 0%

What I hope to achieve with city_72 is a kind of suburbs kind of feel to RP, while still having the city feel. Please note anything is subject to change at ANY time. This will mostly be made for HL2RP and I don’t plan on making anything for Dark RP in it. This is my first map. Helpful constructive criticism is appreciated.

here’s some neat criticism for your brave endeavors.

1: add lighting. just slap a light_environment in there and tune it to your needs. you’ll need light if you want a somewhat decent map. it’s fullbright. fullbright is bad. http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Light_environment

2: fix your textures. i’ve noticed some misalignment in the buildings. http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Hammer_Face_Edit_Dialog#Align:_World_and_Face try and fix them. it makes it look like it was rushed.

3: the buildings are a bit blocky. it seems as if they’re just blocks with textures carelessly placed on them. try and improve the architecture by adding details like gutters, pipes, balconies, etc.

4: make it something worth playing. try to replicate half-life 2 maps. not just blocks of textures.

i’ll come up with more later.

I like it, but I agree with Aspen.