Rust experimental server missing from browser

Hello everyone !

I’m french guy aged of 21, I’m an alternate student in IT network, and I have a little issue with my server for the pasts months now.

For the little story, I decided to make a rust experimental server last november, on my dedicated server from ovh.

My server run on debian, thus, Rust server doesn’t work on linux.

I did a windows server 2012 R2 VM on my linux, I installed rust server from the rust website, I disabled the firewall on windows and mades the iptables rules on my debian.

Everything worked fine, it was on the browser master list, my friends and everyone else could join, perfect.

Here is the deal, since the last huge update of rust back in January, my server is simply not listed on the browser. The server is up to date, no error when I launch it, I can join the server via the ingame console, same for my friends.

Sometimes, the server show up for ~4 minutes after a restart, and disapear.

I search over the net, I found this thread and other things, but I couldn’t fix it.

I saw something about being blacklisted ? I don’t think it’s my case, I didn’t do anything wrong.

Please, dear community of Rust and Facepunch, could you help me find the path of light, and help me in this periple to fix my server ?

Thank you all.

EDIT : I reinstalled windows server 2012 R2 and Rust again, same issue.

Thank you for posting your autobiography, it was most interesting.

Firstly there is a native Linux server now, you don’t need to piss around with Windows. Next your server probably isn’t in the browser because there is a limit.

A limit ? :what:

I don’t think it’s the problem, new server are coming up every now and then, and they’re listed for more than 4 minutes ! :smile:

For the linux part, Should I understand that the differents files from rust server are now up to date in steamcmd database ?

Yes, Linux server works but there are some issues for the moment. I wouldn’t recommend to use it.