Rust server performance: GSP issue or development issue?

So, like most of you all, I thought the performance problems with Rust servers was with the program itself. We all experience the jerkiness, the stutters, etc. I get 150+ FPS, but in between that, it stutters. So, a friend got his hands on the Rust server files, and fired it up for some testing on his home PC. Connecting to this server, the game runs silky smooth, no stuttering, fluid movement of players, etc. I even had a high ping as I am on East coast and he is West, but it didn’t seem to matter. One could argue, “but Tex, that’s because you guys had less than 10 people on the server!”, the thing is, even on servers with 10 or less people, performance is poor.

After seeing it on a home PC, I think the issue largely lies in the GSPs over committing disk, CPU, and memory. I am a sys admin by trade, and administer/deployed nearly 1000 combined virtual servers/desktops for my company and our clients. I am no stranger to a virtualized environment, and the challenges with shared resources. I think all of these GSPs are trying to offer servers so cheap, that this is the performance we all get. And yes, $20 for a server that can hold 100 people is insanely cheap.

So I ask, can a) the GSPs be opened up to more providers? b) can the dev team lean on GSPs to provide more resources/don’t overcommit to protect the game experience? c) can some of the GSPs offer a premium offering that offers more resources to a fewer number of clients. I for one would be happy to pay someone a monthly fee to get a premium experience, ie my server admins, and I think others would as well.

So, peopled agreed, but no comments? I feel like this is kind of big news, that potentially the game is fine, but the providers are bad.